Quest Givers logo

Get Hooked on Adventure!

Recent Product Reviews

If you have made a purchase of a product and wish to write a review, please log in and return to the product listing. At the bottom of the review section on the product page you will find the link to write a review.


The North Road - 5 Stars

Review by Unknown on 2021-06-01

Product Price USD$59.95


MacDeath - 5 Stars

Review by Eric Avila on 2021-05-29

"Good things of day begin to droop and drowse; While night's black agents to their preys do rouse. Thou marvell'st at my words, but hold thee still. Things bad begun make strong themselves by ill." This adventure is a modern masterpiece of RPG design. The familiar tale of MacBeth, but retold with enough surprises and twists to keep even a literary scholar at the edge of their seat. Your players will love you for this. Do it.

Product Price USD$6.99


The North Road - 5 Stars

Review by Darran White on 2021-04-02

Great characters and story. It provides NPC dialogue for most likely interactions. Requires Game Master to prepare stats for monsters and NPCs and plan out how the elements provided will play out.

Product Price USD$59.95


Luck Dice Rules - 5 Stars

Review by tony Camaj on 2021-03-02

This is such a creative and easy way to handle when a character fails. You almost want to do crazy things so that eventually you can throw all those dice in and do something extremely heroic. Great, simple mechanic.

Product Price USD$0.99


Quick Quest - 04a Death Becomes You - 5 Stars

Review by tony Camaj on 2021-03-02

Wow! Very creative module. I have to say, this was a great idea that I could see DMs really having a lot of fun with. Can't wait to customize it for our homebrew campaign.

Product Price USD$0.99


MacDeath - 5 Stars

Review by Ben G on 2021-02-21

I was blown away the first time I read this! Ooooh boy, it was so good. I don't want to spoil anything but its got some fun twists that are worth the buying price. It is straight up one of the BEST laid out modules I have EVER laid eyes on. I did not have to flip back and forth to check anything. chefs kiss muah I have a mixed group of war gamers and theater nerds. I have no doubt this will wake them up. I have not been this excited to run a module since I jumped into the hobby and devoured my first one. Professor Dungeon Master is killin' it!

Product Price USD$6.99


Harvest - 5 Stars

Review by Marius Bathe on 2020-12-04

Pleasantly creepy, fun to read and easy to run. I used a slightly modified version for a Halloween oneshot with great success. Simply 4 hours of fun game time. I cannot recommend it enough to anyone.

Product Price USD$6.99


Luck Dice Rules - 5 Stars

Review by Kemper Straley on 2020-06-14

Been playing with Scotty's luck dice system for the past couple of years. It's easy to adapt to any rpg and adds a lot of fun to the d6 system.

Product Price USD$0.99


The North Road - 01 Death and Taxes - 5 Stars

Review by Mike Westerbur on 2020-03-19

I have started running this campaign for our group and we are really enjoying it. The system neutral layout is awesome. I am plugging this campaign into a Warhammer Fantasy Roleplaying set of rules and it is working flawlessly. Keep up the great work boys, Looking forward to many more sessions with this campaign! Mike

Product Price USD$6.99


How to Run a Successful Roleplaying Game Campaign - 4 Stars

Review by Jolene Naugle on 2019-02-28

I am new to DM side of things even with a quick look over this guide is going to prove to be a great addition to my tools. I can tell a story but this will help me keep it moving smoothly. I cant wait to sit down and write a good campaign using this guide. thank you guys for all your work in keeping this hobby going.

Product Price USD$0.99


The North Road - 01 Death and Taxes - 5 Stars

Review by David Sanders on 2019-02-20

The biggest stand out to me on this module is the amount of work put into it and the system that is used. It very well thought out with multiple dialogue possibilities and out comes with NPC interactions (uses skill based system for dialogue to dive deeper into the reach story) . The depth of detail put into this module gives it a gritty paranoid feel. The dialogue and possibilities feel organic. It gives you a great base to start with but allows for a homebrew feel with the options left to the DM/GM. Great work guys keep them coming!!

Product Price USD$6.99


Quick Quest - 01a The Arcane Vault - 5 Stars

Review by Jonathan Schernkau on 2019-02-17

I had placed the Arcane Vault underneath the ruins of an old wizards keep that the players had to investigate on the local town behest. Random abominations where roaming the streets at night and the Keep was the believe cause of the infestation. The party had an interesting time dealing with the Vault and enjoyed the short quest. Fumbles where made and jokes ensued around the table. You guys did an excellent job, I look forward to seeing what else is in store.

Product Price USD$0.99


Quick Quest - 01a The Arcane Vault - 5 Stars

Review by Marius Bathe on 2019-02-11

“The Arcane Vault”, as all Quest-Givers modules, can be run in whatever fantasy RPG system you are using and no matter what level your party is. The mini-module provides an experienced DM with enough information to adjust it to their personal needs without too much work. Despite it being a very small dungeon the “Vault” is by no means linear and offers an appealing mixture of combat, skill challenges, traps and interesting characters that are all beautifully linked together. Best of all the module can be easily added into any existing campaign I am running a D&D 3.5 campaign with 3 players at level 6 and I placed the Vault under the basement of ruined watchtower inside the city that today functions as lighthouse. But the hidden dungeon is being used by the local mafia as drug lab… The group loved the duality of the dungeon: ancient mystery and current crime. “The Vault” also has the potential to give your players an incredibly gross and horrific experience while exploring - if you choose to. I salute Scotty and the Gareth for putting out an entertaining mini adventure for only 1€. I can’t recommend it enough.

Product Price USD$0.99


The North Road - 01 Death and Taxes - 5 Stars

Review by Tim Reisinger on 2019-02-10

My players engaged like never before been playing Dungeons and Dragons for 5 years with my group and they loved the character's method of speaking. This is a great resource for new DMs to create a great roleplay experience with very litte prep time. Read the module, create the NPCs stateblock and play. For experienced DMs 20 minutes of time reading the module is all that is needed. For any game system, these modules can be a great starting point for a session, campaign, or expanding a homebrew world. Having played the first 4 modules the story evolves as it is played, there is plenty of information in these modules for whereever your players want to take the story. I am adapting the story for another system my players want to learn. DMG and DM Scotty have combined years of gaming to create a great resource for any GM/DM to use.

Product Price USD$6.99


The North Road - 01 Death and Taxes - 5 Stars

Review by Jason Scranton on 2019-02-10

Death & Taxes is a magnificent work of art and adventure. I've been a long time fan of both Gareth and Scotty and this adventure is top shelf material that you can "actually run." I have so many RPG books which are basically to long to read to the point that they are impractical, BUT this book is tight, easy to read, and actually useful. It provides a great cultural feel with rumor and random utterances which are easy to access, I just really can't express how cool the art and format delivered is. No matter what system you are playing this book will be an asset on your shelf. Gareth and Scotty if you're reading this, don't stop writing these!

Product Price USD$6.99


The North Road - 03 Messenger in the Woods - 5 Stars

Review by Niklas Skinner on 2019-02-08

The Woods has a Message for You: This is the third installment of the twelve part series, named The North Road, by the Quest Givers and sees the adventuring party continuing a journey to find a Loyalist camp. One fantastic aspect about this series is its system agnosticism: no matter what system you play, you can run this series. The Art: If you're looking for art along the lines of Larry Elmore, Wayne Reynolds, or Jon Hodgson, the Quest Givers don't quite have the budget for that yet. However, if you enjoyed a lot of the illustrations from the first edition of the world's most popular RPG, then the illustrations in this volume are right up your alley. The black and white sketches of the NPCs and Monsters are evocative and successfully icky when they need to be. The color photographs showcase the authors' contributions to the tabletop crafting community with wonderful clarity, and are quite inspiring in their own right. The sarlakarn is particularly intriguing and has been added to my long list of future builds. The Story (as spoiler free as possible): The characters begin the adventure already on the road in a wood. For those who haven't played the first two adventures in the series, this can be easily dropped into any campaign where the adventurers are currently, or likely, to travel a lot. Characters with any predilection for hunting or wilderness lore will be pivotal in finding the seed for the adventure, but the text also has an alternate route to take if the characters head back to the town they last left (or, with some rearranging, the town they're soon to enter). The overall atmosphere of the adventure is one of mystery and suspense. The party meets a messenger with a royal charge in a seemingly haunted forest and must contend with aggressive insects, plants, and more before coming to the overall resolution. While the adventure is fun and creative, with a many opportunities for adventure, some of the prose and grammatical structures could do with a little tightening up (but I'm a little particular as my day job is as a technical writer and editor). Fortunately, that has little impact on the premise and fun of the quest. It's full of heart pounding encounters and has clear directions from one instance to another. One wonderful mechanic the authors introduce is the "Sun Die." It acts as a way to trigger an event and track the passage of the day; it's absolutely wonderful. The lack of system mechanics means there is a little more work that needs to be done on the part of the GM so it fits into the system they're working with, but that's truly ancillary to the extraordinary tale Gareth Q. Barrett and Scotty McFarland are telling in The North Road. It's a truly exciting tale and I'm looking forward to picking up more when I can.

Product Price USD$6.99


The North Road - 01 Death and Taxes - 5 Stars

Review by Kemper Straley on 2019-02-07

I've always been a fan of the DMG and DM Scotty's work. They're highly creative guys who understand the nuances of fantasy role-playing. North Road: Death and Taxes didn't disappoint. Both of the authors did a wonderful job of developing a system agnostic game that could be run on practically any fantasy role-playing system. The module might even have some application for solitaire play (kinda like a choose your own adventure book). Further, the authors emphasize storytelling and role-playing over hack-and-slash- something refreshingly welcome in a world where role-playing games have become fixated on combat encounters. Interior art is excellent. Gareth's line drawings are crisp and clear, reminiscent of Arnie Swekel's style in 1990's 2nd edition D&D. Scotty's photos of crafted terrain serve not only to fortify the text, but to serve as inspiration for DM's interested in crafting terrain when they run this adventure. Criticisms of the module are few. It has a bit of a different way of presenting the material than standard modules, which can make it initially confusing (but which can also add value if a person wants to run this in a solitaire version). However, once the entire module has been read, all confusion will generally be cleared up. Barnett and McFarland have succeeded in their first outing as writers of fantasy RPG modules, and I look forward to reading the rest of their work.

Product Price USD$6.99

If you have made a purchase of a product and wish to write a review, please log in and return to the product listing. At the bottom of the review section on the product page you will find the link to write a review.